PDA

View Full Version : Choc Chip Cookies Flat...why?

jacksmomtobe
02-02-2011, 11:50 AM
Ok so the last 2 times I made choc chip cookies they ended up really flat. No ingredients were left out. I am a big baker so I've had my method of baking cookies down pat so I'm wondering why all of a sudden my cookies are turning out flat in order to cook through. Any ideas? I also now that I think of it noticed that one of my other flat style cookies cooked a bit weird when I did all my baking for Christmas. I would appreciate any help in figuring out why this is occurring. They still taste good but are a bit different than usual.

Thanks!

wellyes
02-02-2011, 11:53 AM
I think egg is the key to non-flatness. Maybe it's your batch of eggs? Usually you buy large but this time you accidentally picked up mediums?

egoldber
02-02-2011, 12:02 PM
How old is your baking powder?

Beth24
02-02-2011, 12:06 PM
Did you change your cookie sheets by any chance?

crl
02-02-2011, 12:50 PM
Have you been melting the butter instead of just having it softened? That can cause cookies to be flat.

Catherine

karstmama
02-02-2011, 02:25 PM
are you preheating long enough that they get a heat blast & 'set up'? is your dough warmer than usual?

i volunteer to be your quality control officer - let me know if you need me to pm you my address! :ROTFLMAO:

jacksmomtobe
02-02-2011, 02:35 PM
Here are the answers to everyone's questions...
*They were made with different batches of eggs. I "always" buy large brown eggs but the brand may have differed.
*Cookie sheets old
*Just softening butter
*Is is cold here so the dough should not have been any warmer than normal
*during christmas I was definitely had a hot oven because I was constantly cooking cookies
*Old baking soda...a possibility.

Hmmm...maybe it's the baking soda?

SnuggleBuggles
02-02-2011, 02:49 PM
Here are the answers to everyone's questions...