PDA

View Full Version : At what age did you learn to drive?

jess_g
02-15-2011, 11:17 AM
My daughter is 15. At age 16 she can start learning to drive. I am so not ready for this. I did not start driving until I was 26 and it took me a while before I would say I was a good driver. I am wondering what age others learned to drive and if you think that 16 year olds should be driving? I am realy hoping that we can wait until she is 17 (or even 18) before she starts to drive. Actualy right now there is no room in the driveway to park another vehicle so hopefully that will solve everything for me for a while.

Jessica.

DietCokeLover
02-15-2011, 11:25 AM
I got my restricted drivers license when I was 15. I could drive alone during daylight hours.

jse107
02-15-2011, 11:26 AM
I got my learners permit the day I turned 16. After 8 months of driving with my parents and a drivers ed. class, I got my license. I was still 16. I didn't have my own car and no one had cell phones to be distracted by, but I was still 16!

BabyBearsMom
02-15-2011, 11:26 AM
Learners Permit at 16, License at 16.5

KpbS
02-15-2011, 11:28 AM
I learned at age 16 1/2. We didn't have an extra car for me to learn to drive and it wasn't a priority for me to learn until then. Is driver's ed offered at her school/summer program?

billysmommy
02-15-2011, 11:29 AM
I got my permit and took driver's ed when I was 15 and got my license on my 16th birthday.

lizzywednesday
02-15-2011, 11:31 AM
I got my 1st Learner's Permit at 16, I think it was "good" 'til 18. It was the final exam for my in-school drivers' ed course (Sophomore year of high school's "health class" unit, which meant 1 marking period of whatever semester you were scheduled for.)

Dad tried to teach me how to drive, but didn't realize that using your mirrors to back up was a "fail" point, so failed the road test on that, parallel parking and steering. (Dad was too afraid to let me steer myself.)

I had no desire or need to get a license until college.