PDA

View Full Version : I don't know what to do with my life anymore :(

blondflava
03-04-2011, 07:35 PM
I have been SAHM for over 2 years now (resigned from my office job while still pregnant because of bedrest and complications) and would love to start planning going to work now, but the main problem is my education, or the lack thereof... I worked at a reception desk before (for about 1.5 years), before that, I did nanny jobs. I was born out of the US and finished some college back in Europe, but the area of my study wouldn't be relevant here, unfortunately (I have a teacher's diploma but never really wanted to teach full time). I'm just very confused as to what to do, would love to get into nursing, BUT... The thought of getting all the paperwork and getting ready for entrance exam is daunting, the bigger problem is that even though I don't work right now, I can't commit to school, maybe part time but wasn't able to find any pt programs like that in the area. My DH has 8-4 job but has unexpected OT pretty often (so can't commit to evening programs not knowing who can stay with DD after 5), we can't really afford a nanny though and daycare for DD is out of the question full time because of DD's feeding issues. I'm already 32 and feel like if I don't try to do something about my work future, I'll just keep wilting here! Ugh, I don't even think any advice would be helpful.... Just ranting....

mommylamb
03-04-2011, 07:38 PM
Is an online degree an option for you?

hillview
03-04-2011, 07:39 PM
Retail, you can go quite far if you become focused (manager etc)? I think nursing is a great idea -- is there an online nursing course?
/hillary

pinkmomagain
03-04-2011, 09:18 PM
If you are interested in nursing but all the school stuff is not doable, what about some type of medical assistant? I know people with no college degree who have been trained on the job in a drs offices to take blood pressure, blood draws, ekgs, etc.

Tammy
03-04-2011, 09:48 PM