PDA

View Full Version : Comforter vs quilt

boilermakermom
03-07-2011, 05:23 PM
I have always had a comforter on my bed, thus I have no experience sleeping with a quilt. I am in the process of redoing DD's room and am picking out bedding. She currently has her baby bedding from PBK. She uses the quilt in her toddler bed, but I often wonder if it is warm enough.

Can anyone weigh in? Are quilts warm enough? She I look for a bedding set with a comforter instead of a quilt?

dec756
03-07-2011, 09:21 PM
i would go with a down comforter just because its so cozy. a quilt seems too stiff for me and also its more for show imo. if real feathers bother her i would go with a down alternative. i use one all year long.

lhafer
03-07-2011, 09:25 PM
For my daughter's bed, I have a comforter set on the bottom (where she sleeps), and a quilt set on the top (where she plays) - bunk beds. They are coordinating.

On my bed I have a down comforter (LOVE LOVE LOVE it!!). I just bought new bedding and bought a duvet cover for the comforter, and a quilt that coordinates and goes under the comforter (above the sheet). I was worried it would be too hot - but it's just right!!

I like comforters usually. I don't know. I know a lot of people use comforters in the winter and quilts in the summer.

newg
03-07-2011, 09:29 PM
I've had a quilt on my bed since jr. high/high school. i think how warm a quilt is depends on how thick the batting is in the middle.
We have a quilt on our bed now, and in the winter we usually have a down throw on top....summer/spring/fall the quilt is plenty.

cmo
03-07-2011, 09:41 PM
My kiddos all have quilts on their beds. In the winter, we add a blanket underneath, and remove it when we switch the AC on for good in early summer. In my own room, we have a comforter for winter, and switch to a quilt in the summer (the comforter is just too hot, even though it's a relatively light silk one).

dec756
03-07-2011, 11:11 PM