PDA

View Full Version : S/O Law School: Paralegal?

ha98ed14
03-09-2011, 11:14 AM
Separate from the discussion on law school, but in keeping, I've been toying with the idea of becoming a paralegal. It's the research part I know I would enjoy and truthfully I am not sure how much of the job is research and how much is glorified gofer and coffee maker.

I have an MPP from an Ivy. The law classes were my favorite. Why I got off on reporting the details of cases to a classroom of people is beyond me, but I loved it. My prof told me I "have a good legal mind". There were people in my program who did joint MPP-JD degrees, but by the time I seriously considered it, I was in hock so deep, I couldn't imagine taking out more loans, plus I had an immediate job offer for after I graduated. It felt like a no-brainer.

I worked in state government in a policy position prior to moving to another state and having DD. I KNOW I will never get that kind of job again. I was recruited out of grad school based on work I had done while there. Here, no one knows me. I don't have any connections.

I toyed with the idea of becoming a teacher. That crashed and burned. I'm looking for something for when DD isn't at home. I know one guy who is a paralegal. He works for the county courts and has made a career of it. He likes it, but he is hard to talk to, so that is pretty much all I know.

So WDYT? Should I be a paralegal? Will my background in policy make me attractive at all? What kind of schools do paralegals go to if they DO NOT go to for-profit, rip-you-off, can't-even-call-it-a-school-because-it-has-ads-on-TV-at-3AM?

bubbaray
03-09-2011, 11:19 AM
Well, this is JMHO, but I have never understood why people willingly choose to be legal secretaries or paralegals. Lawyers are a BRUTAL group of people to work with/for. Seriously. We are crankly, stressed, it is just not a fun thing for the support staff most of the time.