PDA

View Full Version : why do i have reservations about reward charts?

chozen
03-22-2011, 09:26 PM
sometimes i really think a reward chart might be useful but for some reason im not so sure of them. do any of you see anything wrong with using a reward chart? and if so why. im sure there is a wrong way and a right way to use them and im not sure what the right way is.

crl
03-22-2011, 09:34 PM
There is a whole Alfie Kohn, no rewards, internal motivation school of thought that disapproves of reward charts. I am not a proponent so I would be the wrong person to explain it. But I am sure someone else will do a great job! Or you could google (or visit mothering.com's forums).

Catherine

wellyes
03-22-2011, 09:40 PM
Well, it is a bribe. You're (essentially) paying kids for their behavior / actions / choices. Does that mean they're bad? Of course not. They have their place. I wouldn't hesitate to use one to PT. But it would not be my first choice for most other behavioral learning. Like chores, politeness, etc.

I'm sure it depends on the kid and the circumstances. I think a reward chart is a useful option in the parenting toolbox but I wouldn't personally go there unless other options were failing me.

niccig
03-22-2011, 09:41 PM
Mainly for me, we forgot to keep checking off what was done. Difficult to earn rewards when not recording it.

I know it works for some goods, families, but I don't think it'll work for us.

Raidra
03-22-2011, 09:42 PM
I have read Alfie Kohn, but I'm not a real follower or anything.. and I had already formed my opinions about reward charts before reading him. :)