PDA

View Full Version : Surprised by this - Breastfeeding Moms Seen as Less Competent

Mommy_Mea
03-26-2011, 12:14 PM
I guess I can see some prejudice in the workforce, with having to pump, etc. But overall? I find this surprising...

http://www.parenting.com/blogs/show-and-tell/melanie-parentingcom/study-shows-breastfeeding-moms-viewed-less-competent?cid=cnnrss

daisymommy
03-26-2011, 12:18 PM
So freakin' ridiculous :mad:. Society unknowingly contributes to these myths. Give your baby a bottle of scientifically formulated substitute milk, and you too will be seen as smart and competent and in charge of your life. Whatever.

BayGirl2
03-26-2011, 12:57 PM
I don't know the methodology behind the study, but the part about perception of job applicants baffles me a bit. Why would you tell whether you are breastfeeding in an interview situation? Its personal information and not appropriate interview conversation IMO.

Personally (and I am a hiring manager who did BF and pump myself) I may have some bias against a candidate that brings up personal needs in an interview, whether about BF, a health condition, bathroom preferences, etc. Those things are protected and shouldn't be discussed pre-hire, they are to be accommodated AFTER an offer is made based on true competence.

The rest of this just seems like general bias of society. I think it does vary regionally. I remember in my post-natal yoga class in Berkeley a Mom pulled out a bottle of formula for her 2 month old and got some inquisitive looks from the other mothers, all of us were BF during the class. Dads in my area seem to be equally understanding of BFing.

eh613c
03-29-2011, 03:08 PM