PDA

View Full Version : 7 mos - How much milk - Hmmm

Schmitty21
03-29-2011, 01:42 PM
Hi there,

My son is 7 1/2 months and has only had breastmilk, no formula. We started solids at 6 months. I work full time so I've been pumping regularly - 3x/day for many months.

Right now I'm struggling with quantities. How much milk should I be giving to daycare? We were in a nice groove of 18 oz/day, 3 6oz bottles. Now that solids are in the mix, I'm not sure where to go. The last few weeks I've been pumping more like 13-15 oz/day, so I've been thawing some of my frozen stash to make 18. I suspect my fertility may be coming back (sorry if TMI). I haven't had my period yet, but could be coming? My friend got hers around 8 mos. I wonder if that's why my supply has decreased, or if that just happens naturally.

I know there's no magic number of ounces, but I'm kind of stumped as to what to do. Do I bring 2 larger bottles to daycare, such as 7 + 7? I'm afraid to bring too little one day and DS will be upset. But I can't keep thawing 2-3 ounces out of frozen, it won't make 1 year, which is my goal.

He gets a small jar of food at daycare, and another at home. We nurse before work and nurse to sleep.

I tried to browse/search some older topics here but didn't get too far. Oh, and what exactly is pump weaning? Does the LO eat EBM during the week, or formula? I can nurse on weekends.

A bit stumped here. :o
Thanks in advance!

wendibird22
03-29-2011, 01:52 PM
With both of my DDs when they started food their BM intake remained the same. Both girls consumed 12oz of EBM while at daycare and I didn't find that changed at all even as solids increased. Around 9mos I noticed a dip in supply too and found I was pumping just enough to get by, sometimes a bit less.