PDA

View Full Version : Scalp itch help

hillview
04-24-2011, 04:48 PM
My head is SO SO SO itchy. I am like that girl in that commercial who leans over to itch her head. I've been using Head and Shoulders for a couple of months now and washing my hair every day or 2 and if anything it is WORSE (before I was using soap and washing every 4 days or so). What would you suggest?
Thanks!
/hillary

indigo99
04-24-2011, 04:57 PM
Have you been checked for lice? When I get too itchy, that's always what I think of. DH thinks that I'm nuts. Seriously though, H&S is rough on your hair if you use it a lot. I've used the generic brand of the tar shampoo with some luck.

hillview
04-24-2011, 06:42 PM
Ok I read my last post ages ago and need to try apple cider vinegar. I don't think it is lice since I've had this off and on for years. SIGH
/hillary

weech
04-24-2011, 07:36 PM
I have the same issue, but I stopped using H&S because it just totally wrecked my hair. Let me know if the apple cider vinegar works - maybe that'll be what I try next.

Sweetum
04-24-2011, 07:43 PM
I'd say you need to figure out if it's dandruff and if it is, is it powdery or is it flaky. Powdery means dry scalp and flaky means oily scalp. You'll need to proceed with a treatment based on that.

hillview
04-24-2011, 07:49 PM
I'd say you need to figure out if it's dandruff and if it is, is it powdery or is it flaky. Powdery means dry scalp and flaky means oily scalp. You'll need to proceed with a treatment based on that.
I am wondering if it is a fungus (EWWWW).

soon2b4
04-24-2011, 09:50 PM
Have you thought about switching to a dye-free, fragrance-free shampoo? I found a great deal of relief after the dermatologist recommended Free & Clear Shampoo and Conditioner. You can buy it online, though she said some Walgreens or CVS stores carry it.

WatchingThemGrow
04-24-2011, 10:00 PM