PDA

View Full Version : Job advice

Cam&Clay
05-10-2011, 05:43 PM
I'm a school librarian. I currently work at an elementary school and have a long commute. It's about an hour in the morning and 40 minutes in the afternoon. I leave the house at 7:30 and don't get home until 5:00. A position opened up at a middle school closer to my home. The commute will be about 20 minutes each way. I'll have to leave my house at about 7:15 and will get home at 3:30.

Here's the problem. Middle schools have 2 librarians and everyone I've talked to has said the other librarian is a nightmare to work with. I met him today at the interview and wasn't impressed at all with his attitude. I think very few people applied to work at this school because of him.

There's a good chance I'll get this job, but I don't know if I want it. DH is going to be in Afghanistan most of the next school year and having a better commute and few hours on the road would make my life so much easier. I could actually go to the store or do something for me after school before picking up DS2. I could be home right after DS1 gets home from middle school. But will I be miserable at the new school?

I love my job and my co-workers (especially my assistant) but have always seen myself as a middle school librarian, so this would be a step in the right direction. Or will I spend 2 years in hell before I get to go elsewhere?

What do you think?

SnuggleBuggles
05-10-2011, 06:32 PM
I think you should go for it. Even if he is awful, it has some many other things going for it. Maybe you 2 will click well enough...or find a way not to have to deal with each other much.

Beth

wendmatt
05-10-2011, 07:23 PM
I think you should go for it. Even if he is awful, it has some many other things going for it. Maybe you 2 will click well enough...or find a way not to have to deal with each other much.

Beth