PDA

View Full Version : Size question

firemama
05-11-2011, 09:57 PM
I am new at this, so I need your help ladies!

DD has been in 12-18 mos clothes for a good 4 months now. We just bought summer clothes for her in 18-24 mos, and I tried them on her and they are too big.

We have been using onesie extenders on most of her onesies, and some of her pants are getting small. I just assumed she would move up to the next size for summer clothes. This time around I didn't buy onesies, so the shorts and shirts all look big. None of the shorts are adjustable, and they are practically falling off her.

The tags are still on. Should I just exchange them for 12-18 mos? Or will she grow into them by the end of June? (that is when we go on vacation).

BabyBearsMom
05-12-2011, 11:34 AM
DD usually grows out of her old size and spends a few weeks in the limbo phase and then into the new size. What I usually do is buy a few Circo brand things to get her through the in between phase (IME they run really small and are really cheap, I can buy her an outfit for less than $10). So right now, DD is growing out of her 18months Carters clothes but doesn't fit into 24 months yet, but does fit into 24 months Circo clothes. I would say that by the end of June, the next size up will probably fit.

firemama
05-14-2011, 03:28 PM
Bumping…

Anyone else? :)

sariana
05-14-2011, 03:36 PM
FWIW, both my DC (boy and girl) tend to wear smaller sizes in shorts, and, for DD, dresses. We have to size up in pants and L/S shirts much sooner than everything else.

So their summer clothes usually are in smaller sizes than their winter clothes, and summer things last more than one season.

Also, my DD stayed in 12 months forever. She got all these cute 18-month summer clothes as b-day gifts in January. She hardly wore them at all because she didn't fit into 18 months until the following winter (when she was almost 2).