PDA

View Full Version : when to start maternity leave?

Serepta
05-26-2011, 04:23 PM
So, this is probably dumb, but I'm 38 1/2 weeks pregnant and work an extremely stressful job (I'm a school psychologist in a high school setting) requiring me being on my feet a lot running after students in crisis. I really had planned on working up until my due date, but when I went into the Dr. yesterday I confessed that I really don't feel like I can keep up at work anymore due to excessive pain in my back, legs, groin, hips, etc, etc, etc. My Dr. assured me that it was more than fine to stop working at 38 weeks, but I didn't have to stop working if I didn't want to. I chose to go out, but now I feel incredibly guilty about it. The thing is, I really don't have to worry about time after the baby is born because being in a school I don't work in the summers, and I'm due at the beginning of June, which means the last few weeks of school I'll be out, and then don't have to return to work until September (I know many women who choose to work up until their due dates do so so that they will have more time off once the baby is born). So why do I feel so guilty? When did you guys decide to stop working, and how did you make that decision? Am I just being crazy and hormonal by second guessing my decision?

daisymommy
05-26-2011, 04:31 PM
Oh goodness honey! Please don't feel guilty! I wouldn't have made it past 8 months! I don't know how pregnant working moms do it! I was in so much pain by that point I could hardly walk or get off the couch.

I worked till 7 months with #1 and had to go on bed rest for high blood pressure. After that I didn't go back to work, but seriously, by 38.5 weeks you have a free pass to lay down, put your feet up, and take care of yourself!

mom2MandC
05-26-2011, 04:35 PM