PDA

View Full Version : Kids, chiropractors and neck pain

infomama
05-28-2011, 09:20 PM
Dd1 has been complaining of neck pain but only at bedtime. She will try every pillow in the house and none of them suffice. She will then move her neck around in an effort to 'make it feel better'. I don't think she injured it and I don't think it's a tactic. She seems truly uncomfortable and nothing I do helps.

Anyone take their kids to chiros for adjustments? Is it true that once you start going you have to keep going and going and going. I have never been to one.

I was thinking of a memory foam topper for her bed, too.

AnnieW625
05-28-2011, 09:25 PM
I have never been to a chiropractor so I have no BTDT experience (I do deal with them for work because I handle workers' comp., but I'll leave my WC opinions about chiros. out) but DH did go one time when he threw his back out for about a month (3 x for the first week or two, then twice a week, and then once the last week I think) and he has never had to go back; that was about 10 yrs. ago. I would be very leary of a chiro. though who can't help and cure the symptoms in a month. That's just my honest opinion though because I know there are others here who probably go a lot and it's great for them, but it can get expensive esp. if it isn't covered in your insurance; which in most cases it isn't.

Clarity
05-28-2011, 10:06 PM
Dd1 has been complaining of neck pain but only at bedtime. She will try every pillow in the house and none of them suffice. She will then move her neck around in an effort to 'make it feel better'. I don't think she injured it and I don't think it's a tactic. She seems truly uncomfortable and nothing I do helps.

Anyone take their kids to chiros for adjustments? Is it true that once you start going you have to keep going and going and going. I have never been to one.

I was thinking of a memory foam topper for her bed, too.