PDA

View Full Version : Asthma moms

hillview
05-29-2011, 09:41 AM
SIGH. DS1 woke up with a cough today. He coughs every few minutes -- dry hacking cough. He is on flovent 44 2x a day and albuterol as needed (I gave it to him this morning). I called the pedi and they made an appointment for 3:15 today (so glad they have weekend hours). What is likely to happen? Will they increase his steroid? We are using a spacer with a face mask for the meds.

TIA
/hillary

egoldber
05-29-2011, 09:45 AM
My allergist would typically have us do the albuterol every 4 hours for 2-3 days and then if the cough had still not subsided, then he would likely go up to the next higher dose Flovent or add a different, second med.

bubbaray
05-29-2011, 09:49 AM
I have limited experience with Flovent in particular (DD#1 did not react well to it). However, our protocol for colds or coughs for DD#1's severe asthma and my own asthma is to add 1 to 2 doses a day of steroid and ventolin/albuteral up to every 4 hours. If more albuterol is needed, we go to the ER.

For example, DD#1 was on Pulmicort 200 1 puff 2x/d. When she has a cold or cough, we up it to 1 puff 3 or 4 x/d. With the Pulmicort 200, usually 3 puffs a day was sufficient. With Pulmicort 100, sometimes 4 puffs a day wasn't enough during a cold. She is now on Symbicort 100, but hasn't had a cold since changing (touch wood).

What is your protocol for colds?

ETA: cross-posted with Beth. Our protocol is to increase the steroid right away and also start albuterol if needed. For DD#1, increasing the steroid seems to help more than the albuterol, which never seems to last the 4 hrs. I won't dose her more than every 4hrs unless she's in the ER, BTDT, not fun.

hillview
05-29-2011, 09:51 AM
What is your protocol for colds?

Clearly I need to go to an asthma doc not my pedi. We don't have one :(

bubbaray
05-29-2011, 09:53 AM