PDA

View Full Version : New to the world of Iphones & have questions (ETA also considering a Droid)

Jo..
05-30-2011, 09:35 AM
DH has to replace his cell (it was an old work provided 3G iphone). He's starting a new job and has to buy his own phone.,

We were thinking about just getting two, signing up for the family plan, and ditching our landline. His new employer reimburses monthly bills (voice text data), so our only out of pocket expenses would be the initial phone purchases and my portion of the monthly bill.

I see the 3gs 8gb on the apple site for $49, is it worth an extra $150 to upgrade to the 4G 16gb ($200) ?

And, if it is worth it to get the newer model, are there any better deals out there?

I am stuck in the dark ages with my old voice only prepaid cell phone that I only use for emergencies, so I am completely new to the smartphone world.

larig
05-30-2011, 09:44 AM
The one piece of info I have that would sway my decision if I were you is that apple is not going to support an upgrade for that phone. It will not receive the next scheduled upgrade that apple will release (likely) this year. That means the phone is what it is now, and won't get any new features from apple, and some app developers who implement and use the new features in their apps won't support that older technology in all likelihood. So, if you're happy with it the way it is now, and don't expect to be needing all the newest coolest apps, I'd consider getting the 3gs. Otherwise spring for the 4. I really like my 4, but it is very likely that an even newer iphone will be released this fall. Does this make sense?

so, I'd likely make due with what I have until the new phone, buy it or a reduced price iphone 4 (it may replace the 3gs as the $50 or $99 phone? if apple's previous pattern holds).

or, buy the iphone 4 and be stuck with it for 2 years.