PDA

View Full Version : teaching DS how to swallow after drinking from a straw

candaceb
06-03-2011, 08:23 PM
I just read a ton of older threads on teaching LO's to drink from a straw but didn't see my particular problem mentioned. I have been working with DS for a couple of months, trying to get him to drink water from a cup. We have tried at least 7 different sippies and straw cups. He doesn't get sippies at all, and the problem with straw cups is that he doesn't close his mouth after drinking, so everything spills out. We literally end up with a river of water running out of his bib pocket, down the highchair and onto the floor.

This has suddenly reached a crisis stage because my milk has dried up over the last week. I need him to be able to take formula and water from a cup. He has not taken a bottle in months (since at least February) and I gave up that battle. I have tried open cups, and he works his bottom jaw like he does while nursing, which results in the water spilling out. I can get a small amount of liquid in him that way. In the meantime, we're trying to give him foods with a high amount of water content and cereal made with formula, along with ice cubes in the mesh feeder.

Does anyone have tips for getting him to understand how to close his mouth and swallow the liquid? I have been trying to use juice, hoping that would encourage him. Last night we took five different cups in the bathtub because I decided it was a better place to experiment - he likes the tub more than sitting in the highchair, and the mess wouldn't be an issue. The two that he seems to do the best with are the take & toss straw cup, and the Playtex straw cup with handles. We happened to have his 9 month well visit this morning, and the pediatrician assured me that if I keep offering it to him, he will figure it out and they've never had to hospitalize a kid because they couldn't figure out how to drink. I'm fearing that mine will be the first...

ckso
06-06-2011, 01:04 PM