PDA

View Full Version : Does it feel to you like Gymboree is going out of business?

HIU8
06-14-2011, 11:43 AM
I get the feeling that gymboree is on their way out (or totally cleaning out their stock completely and starting over). I recently bought stuff there b/c finally the prices were reasonable (and I got gymbucks to use in July--which I have never done before (read: paid full price for clothes at gymbo with or without gymbucks). Anyway, the sales here are DEEP, really really DEEP. It just feels like they are not planning to be around for much longer. Anyone else get that feeling?

BabyBearsMom
06-14-2011, 11:47 AM
I think it is just the normal EOS kind of sale. Clear out the old stuff to bring in the new stuff.

WolfpackMom
06-14-2011, 11:49 AM
No, its like this every end of season there. Last year I was able to buy twill shorts for 99 cents plus a coupon. This year I got linen pants for $5.

HIU8
06-14-2011, 11:59 AM
Ok. Then I will definitely start scouting their sales much better each time b/c some of the deals were just so so good. The other thing that got me worried is that in the mall near me the store moved from a large double store location to a VERY small location (less than half the size of the other location).

jvs195
06-14-2011, 12:02 PM
I feel like all this year they've been struggling to grab people's attention. I remember when they didn't have this many sales/coupons etc... so in contrast it does seem like they are struggling. Maybe they're feeling some of the economy crunch where people are no longer buying the entire line including all the extra doodads (socks, hat, hair clippie, etc....) I know they redesigend our B&M store and it is a terrible design. (Circular center kiosk which is always piled high with stuff).

WolfpackMom
06-14-2011, 12:41 PM