PDA

View Full Version : Hospital Bill- watch those IVs

Beckylove
06-17-2011, 11:04 AM
I gave birth about a month ago and requested my itemized hospital bill. Out of $8700 or so total (this is the initial bill, before insurance adjustments) $2500 was IV costs! 1200 in hydration and 1300 is treatment (oxytocin in IV to help shrink the uterus).

I had no problem philosophically with IV hydration before birth or with a little oxytocin to help shrink the uterus after birth, but had I known it would cost 2500 bucks, I would have just drank some more water and let breastfeeding do its job to help shrink my uterus a little slower.

I am not a doctor or health care provider, so discuss your IV options with them before birth. But this is definitely an issue I would have paid more attention to in retrospect and included in a birth plan.

This is just a PSA for those interested.

daisymommy
06-17-2011, 11:14 AM
Very good points, except hospital policy is almost always that if you have pain pains, especially an epidural you HAVE TO have a hydrating IV. There is no choice once you go down that road.

SnuggleBuggles
06-17-2011, 11:49 AM
I hate IVs so I specifically planned for no pain meds and no induction. I got my midwife on board with no hep lock either. I got lucky and was able to totally avoid it...glad I was able to save some money. :)

Beth

ashleybama24
06-17-2011, 12:05 PM
Don't be afraid to call the hospital or your insurance and negotiate a better deal. All hospitals/doctors bill as much as possible knowing that each insurance pays at a different rate. You have every right as a patient to dispute the claims and ask for something more reasonable especially since you probably had that IV in for less than 24 hours!

BabbyO
06-17-2011, 12:40 PM