PDA

View Full Version : if you were a SAHM and then went back to work...

♥ms.pacman♥
07-19-2011, 03:30 PM
..please share your story and any suggestions/encouragemnt you have for getting back into the workforce. i am mostly interested if you had to essentially "start over" (e.g. you didn't just go back to an old job, you had to go through the whole searching/interviewing thing from scratch). basically that is what i'm going to have to do. i graduated w/ a PhD in engineering in 2007 but i only worked for 1 year before i quit to move halfway across the country to my DH's homestate. I couldn't find a job here for the longest time, and when i got preg with my DS i just gave up the search and figured I'd just be a SAHM at first. So while my oldest is only 18 mos, i have not worked FT in 3 years. I think having a 3yr gap is going to be a pretty bad hit for me (it is a long time in engineering field, as technology changes so quickly) so i think I will be looking for basic entry-level positions, which is fine.

the thing is, i think i need to start working ASAP. not so much for financial reasons, but mostly because, i don't think i can mentally/emotionally handle being a SAHM for much longer. especially with no family around and a husband who has to travel a decent amount. last time with just DS, it got SO much easier past 4 months, but this time around, it's like it's getting worse. DS and DD are both STTN, but during the day it struggle so hard to deal with them. it is so hard to get my DD to nap for any decent period of time during the day. and DS is getting demanding and feeding times are such a struggle. There is no downtime whatsoever and i really feel like i cannot enjoy my kids at all like t his. I type this as my DD is screaming in her swing.

carolinamama
07-19-2011, 03:36 PM