PDA

View Full Version : Pilates

alexsmommy
07-27-2011, 12:08 PM
I have never done pilates before. I am also very, very inflexible. I just signed up for my first private introductory class because when I think of the type of "fit" body type that I would like to aspire too, many women have told me they do pilates to achieve that look.
What do I need to know going into this? I'm a little nervous, but I'm also excited to try something new.

cvanbrunt
07-27-2011, 01:56 PM
You will love it. The equipment is great, really low impact but still really challenging. Your flexibility will improve as will your strength but it won't be overnight. Pilates demands a lot of attention to form so you feel like you are getting corrected all.the.time. This is completely normal and expected. I'm actually a little annoyed if I'm not being corrected. IMO you need to do Pilates two days a week at a minimum. I do a minimum of three but love it when I get in four sessions. I do a mix of equipment and mat but my preference is equipment. You've got a lot of options in terms of privates, duet, and group classes. Wear something relatively form fitting so the instructor can see your body. Don't be self-conscious, though. I just finished my instructor training I love it so much.

alexsmommy
07-27-2011, 02:49 PM