PDA

View Full Version : No period on Nuvaring?

mikeys_mom
07-28-2011, 03:49 PM
Has anyone used Nuvaring and not had any periods? I've been using it for 2 months now. Last month (my first time using it), didn't get my period. No spotting. Nothing. I had a minor panic, took a few pg tests, all negative. I figured it was maybe because it was the first month, body still adjusting, etc...

Now this month again, I removed it 3 days ago and still nothing doing. I don't feel pg. DH says he would know if I were because I typically get major exhaustion and hunger my first trimester. I plan to take another pg test after the weekend just to make myself feel better. In the meantime, I have been googling and haven't see no periods mentioned at all as being a common occurance on Nuvaring. I know it's common with the Mirena. My Dr told me when she prescribed me the Nuvaring that it has the lowest incidence of spotting but never said I might not get my period.

Anyone else here have this?

mommylamb
07-28-2011, 06:36 PM
I've never been on nuvaring, but years ago when I was on depo I didn't get my period at all.

But, I do have a friend who got pregnant recently on nuvaring, so it does happen. Then again, she's super fertile to a really amazing extent.

Kymberley
07-28-2011, 07:25 PM
I'm on Nuvaring, and my periods are worse. Worse as in heavier, more cramping, lots of spotting, but not as long. So, complete opposite land over here.

cckwmh
07-28-2011, 08:19 PM
the two people I knew on nuvaring both got pregnant - which is suppose to be really uncommon. nuvaring is the same hormones as regular birth control pills, so you should have a period.

mikeys_mom
07-29-2011, 01:40 AM
Hmm...now I'm a bit concerned. I might just have to take another pg test tomorrow rather than waiting until after the weekend.