PDA

View Full Version : Big life changes generally, and have any lawyer moms changed professions?

Minnifer
08-04-2011, 10:17 AM
Another thread about big life changes...

I've been practicing law for 15 years now and have mostly hated every minute of it :shake:. I do corporate work, first for BigLaw, then in-house for a variety of corporations. My current job is ok-ish in that the hours are reasonable and the people are not as awful as most of the other places I've worked, but I still really despise the actual practice and subject matter. There's no other practice area that appeals to me.

I'd love to do something else, but I really haven't got a clue as to what. I've never had a grand passion or desire to do anything in particular. Periodically over the years I've bought various career help books, including those "what to do with a law degree" books, but I've never found them particularly helpful.

I'm on maternity leave now and have asked my job for P/T (3 days a week) so I can spend more time w/the kids, but it looks like they are not open to this. I would love to SAH and I can swing it for a year or so while I figure stuff out, if I move out of NYC and closer to my family in PA (I'm a single mom so can't SAH permanently unfortunately). I would LOVE to get out of the NYC area anyway so am totally open to moving.

In my gut I really feel like now is the time to make a big jump/transition. I don't want to regret not seeing my kids when I practically had to move mountains to have them, and I don't want to do something I hate forever... life is too short. I would love to transition to something totally different, and to be able to do it part time but still make enough to support my family.