PDA

View Full Version : basic ?: DIY project (sealing the grout in the kitchen & bathroom)

brgnmom
08-09-2011, 07:12 PM
DH and I have been renting for 6+ years, and we're finally seeing a potential end in sight... we're planning on moving into our first home, but the place that we have our heart set on will require DIY projects - like sealing the grout for the tiles in the kitchen and the bathroom. I haven't done anything like this before, and I've tried googling the process. If anyone has done this here, would you suggest sealing the grout in the kitchen tile flooring, along with the backsplash & bathroom tiles? Would the same sealant be applied in both settings, and would it be safe to use w/ a baby in the home? Would it be better to hire a professional?

As you can tell, I'm a complete newbie w/ regards to home improvement projects and would greatly appreciate any suggestions regarding the process of sealing grout for tiles. Thank you!

niccig
08-09-2011, 07:17 PM
I sealed our bathroom grout very easily. It was a spray on bottle and then wipe. Just don't get it on your glass shower door, took some time for it to wear off! I probably could have scrubbed it off.

Oh, need to have clean tile and grout before you begin.

I need to do our kitchen counter tile and plan to use same spray.

I always google before starting a new project. I go to an independent hardware store for advice as the staff there have more time/know more than Home Depot etc.

Gardenweb forums are another good place to check.

I do have a handyman I call in for some projects, building a new gate, replacing rotting eve under roof, but I do many other things. Like paint the new gate, caulk the bathtub. I have to repair some rotting wood on our french doors. I've done this on window sill, so pretty sure I can do the door as well as it's shallow. I also think I'm more careful than some contractors we've had in. Spend more time sanding etc.

brgnmom
08-09-2011, 07:21 PM