PDA

View Full Version : Teaching as a second career

athompson
09-06-2011, 09:12 AM
I've been thinking a lot lately about teaching. I'm currently staying home with my three children, but in three years they will all be in school.
I have a Bachelor of Science and a Master of Science, but neither of them are in education. I know requirements are different in each state, but where do I need to begin? I'd like to find the most cost effective way to become certified to teach in my state. I'm in Illinois. Thank you in advance:)

drako
09-06-2011, 09:25 AM
Go to your state's department of education website. You should be able to find information there. You may need to take classes in order to get your certification.

larig
09-06-2011, 11:28 AM
I've been thinking a lot lately about teaching. I'm currently staying home with my three children, but in three years they will all be in school.
I have a Bachelor of Science and a Master of Science, but neither of them are in education. I know requirements are different in each state, but where do I need to begin? I'd like to find the most cost effective way to become certified to teach in my state. I'm in Illinois. Thank you in advance:)

I know lots about IL certification, but my recommendations will depend on where you live. I taught there for 10 years (and my parents taught too). What's the closest university/college to you? (PM me if you don't want to respond via posting in public). I'd be happy to talk you through the process.

hellokitty
09-06-2011, 12:28 PM
Before looking into certification/degrees, I would look at the hiring availability. In our area, it is really difficult to get a teaching job. It's not uncommon to have to sub for many yrs before getting your foot in the door for a teaching position. I had kind of thought about this as well, but knowing how bad the economy is in our area, including for teachers looking for a job, I decided it wasn't worth it. Just something to think about.

crl
09-06-2011, 01:04 PM