PDA

View Full Version : Shipping through ebay- Help!

toby
09-07-2011, 05:05 PM
O.K, ebay experts:

I am new to selling things on ebay and need to ship some shirts. In the past, I have gone to the post office and shipped from there, but I am wondering if I should do the ebay label instead (I think that tracking may be included). But, if I don't have a scale at home, I need to go to the post office to weigh anyhow, right?

Thanks!

mom2binsd
09-07-2011, 09:28 PM
Unless you have your own scale (I bought a small one for 4lb and below for 15.00 at Walmart) you will need to go and weigh at post office and then ship from there (or go home and print label but that would be sillly if you're already there.).

Did you quote a shipping price in your listing? It's important to be accurate so that you don't overcharge or undercharge ...if you print from home you can hide the cost of the postage. Ebay postage done at home often included delivery confirmation (for Priority) and it's .19 for First Class. Items under 13 oz can go First Class which is much cheaper.

toby
09-08-2011, 01:49 PM
Thank you!

I have found that it is difficult to calculate shipping because I don't know where it will be going...for instance, I quoted $4.90 and it ended up being almost $6 because the person who bought it is in a different zone (Colorado). I would rather undercharge than overcharge, but I was wondering what most people do. In the past, before sending the invoice, I have changed the shipping to less than originally stated (when combining two things), but I would think that I shouldn't change it to more (as in the Colorado case).

BTW, I never knew that it was less expensive to print your own labels from home and pay online.

citymama
09-08-2011, 02:21 PM
Sorry to hijack, but do you have a link to an inexpensive and accurate scale one could use for shipping? And how do you get the sticky labels for the ebay postage - from the post office or from Staples?

toby
09-08-2011, 02:44 PM