PDA

View Full Version : Dear PreK Teacher

alleycat
09-12-2011, 11:03 PM
I only asked for a list of approved snacks because I'm concerned about the kids with allergies in DD's class. I'm not being lazy. Well, maybe it would make my life easier but wouldn't it also be safer for the kids if I knew what I can let DD bring? She's picky so it's hard enough. Yes, I know I can read the labels, but what if I miss something or if it's not labeled, can I assume it's safe or do I assume it's not safe?

Please preK teacher don't give me the brush off. And yes, I did have another question so I will stand here and wait patiently while you speak to another parent. Don't pretend I'm not still standing here. These questions may seem dumb to you but it's my first time sending my DD to preK so I have questions especially when I have a problem with your request. I don't need the attitude. So I guess now I'll be labeled the "difficult" mom.

PreK starts on Wednesday. I think I'll call tomorrow to see if there are openings in another class.

elizabethkott
09-12-2011, 11:09 PM
I'm so sorry!!!
I would think that a teacher would welcome a parent's concern about keeping other kids safe re: allergies!
Wow. And to stand there and pretend you're not there? WOW.
(((((hugs)))))

niccig
09-13-2011, 12:10 AM
Not sure about pretending you're not there, but not having a list of approved snacks and asking you to read labels is because manufacturers change their ingredients and labeling. What is fine in September, may not be fine in May, so you can't rely on an approved list.

It's safer for the FA kids to not have an approved list that is out of date and have people read the label on the product at time of purchase. I would be surprised if a school gave out a list - liability to say X and Y are fine, and then to find out they are not.

jal
09-13-2011, 12:03 PM