PDA

View Full Version : Tell me about Bey Blades

citymama
09-15-2011, 04:10 AM
My 7 yr old nephew has asked me to get him something called "Bey Blades." I am terrified by the name itself, but his mom assures me they're not something dangerous. ;)

If your kid likes these, can you tell me what to get for a 7 yr old boy in the $30 range? Bonus points if it's available on amazon.com Prime. Many thanks!

zoestargrove
09-15-2011, 05:59 AM
I am not an expert, but I'll offer what little I know.

Beyblades are fancy spinning tops. I think they are made of metal, but could be combination of plastic and metal.

2 players throw their beyblades into an arena to fight and the last top to stay spinning is the winner.

I'm pretty sure there is a cartoon or story to go along with it.

My son used a $25 giftcard to walmart to buy the ones he has. I think that he could get 4 with that amount. But, I think there were fancier beyblades he could have chosen for more than $8. He was going for quantity so that he could play with his brother right away. Each top is named and and on the packaging it will tell you about it's qualities. ( some are long spinning, fast, or have spikes to attack or slow down an opponent, some light up.) We didn't buy the plastic arena that goes with the tops, but you really do need something to contain them when they are "in battle". We used a zhou zhou pet battle arena? and one of those round saucer type plastic sleds successfully. I wonder if a hula hoop on the floor would work?

I'm sure you can find them on amazon prime, but I haven't looked.

KrisM
09-15-2011, 07:12 AM
Does he have any? If he doesn't have anything, he'll want a battle stadium.

He'll need at least 2 beys to battle each other. They're just spinning tops that come with a launcher.