PDA

View Full Version : S/O Did you change your name?

mjs64
09-17-2011, 01:39 AM
ETA: I realize now that my poll options also assume that you are female! Sorry dads!

I didn't change my name when I married DH. DS has DH's last name. But now I'm considering changing my last name to DH's and changing my middle name to my maiden name. Wondering, given the recent thread, what others have done and how that worked out for their professional and personal lives. FWIW, I have a masters and bachelors in my maiden name and am about to complete my doctorate. I think I would change my name for my degree, and that's why I would go ahead and change my middle name to my maiden name, to keep it, in way, for professional reasons. What do you think? I kind of want to have the same last name as DH and DS.

And how much of a pain is it to change your name? I know it will be harder to do it now (with a court order) than it would have been to do it when I was married. Does it last forever? By which I mean, are you forever finding documents and accounts in your old name that you have to change over?

Poll coming.

katydid1971
09-17-2011, 01:45 AM
I changed my name soon after I married DH. I changed my middle name to to my maiden name. It wasn't a big deal for me professionally but I'm a teacher. It didn't take very long to change but we didn't have many assets at the time ;)

ellies mom
09-17-2011, 01:52 AM
I changed my name a few years after I got married. It wasn't any harder or different than it would have been right after getting married. Although, in all honesty, I sometimes wish I had just kept my maiden name. I like having the same last name as my children but I miss being Veronica Maiden Name. It just seems more me than my married name but like the OP in the other post, I was in my mid-30s when I changed it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

elektra
09-17-2011, 02:13 AM