PDA

View Full Version : what do you eat when camping?

SnuggleBuggles
09-20-2011, 10:59 AM
We are pseudo-camping this weekend (we have a pop up camper thing that we are borrowing). I have never done that before; I prefer renting cabins with kitchens, baths and heating. :) Anyway, I have no idea what to pack food wise for 2 nights. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated!! Our friends have a small RV that we may be able to use for a fridge or stove but I'm not counting on it.

Beth

maestramommy
09-20-2011, 11:16 AM
We have small gas stoves. A whisper light, and a liquid propane stove. A favorite meal is ramen with canned chicken and sun dried tomatoes. We also get those Indian food packets you drop into boiling water. On our first camping trip Dh brought along marinated drumsticks and we grilled them. Sometimes we did it with steaks too. We had one of those cheapie grills that are close to the ground, and it was easy to toss in the back of the car.

We also bring along beef jerky, trail mix, and power bars. and dried fruit. Oh yes, and beer and chips.

hannah
09-20-2011, 11:40 AM
We have a two burner camp stove that we take with but we also use the camp fire for cooking too.
Here are our standard camp meals:
Meat sauce (made before at home and reheated at camping) and spaghetti, salad & bread
Tacos - you could make the meat mixture before hand or onsite; prep all toppings before hand at home
Chicken dijon - chicken tenders with a dijon mustard sauce over rice
Chicken fajitas - cook chicken over camp fire and cook peppers/onions on the stove in a skillet
Hamburgers & hotdogs over the camp fire

Have fun!

weech
09-20-2011, 11:57 AM
Hot dogs (and other typical grill foods) and hobo dinners are my favorite. Hobo dinners are foil packets with ground meat, vegetables and seasonings put on a grate over the fire.