PDA

View Full Version : Did you have school debt when you graduated from college

AnnieW625
09-20-2011, 04:14 PM
One of the school threads got me thinking about this. I didn't have any debt (school or personal) when I graduated from college and in fact because I got grants to cover about 80% of the yearly tuition (tuition was just over $3000 a year at it's max when I was in college, most semesters it was under $1000 though, but there were a few were it might have been about $1500; my parents paid about $200 to $400 every semester) my parents paid less than $10K for my college education, and 2/3s of that was room and board when I lived on campus for the latter half of my college career; I lived at home for the first half, and I paid for my own commuting costs, gas and insurance.

eta: My parents didn't have a specialized 529 plan for us, just a money market account. After the S&L crash in the late 1980s my mom has been very leary about stocks as they lost a large amount of their savings to junk bonds during the S&L crisis.

eta 2: my parents did get a $3000 student loan, but it was paid off before I graduated from college. I don't recall why they did it, but it might have paid for my semester in the traditional dorm w/food plan because money was super tight then, but my brother had also started college then so they paid for two kids in college at once for 18 months. I never had to make a payment on the money, but I had heard that paying it off before a certain date was highly beneficial.

karstmama
09-20-2011, 04:32 PM
no debt undergrad (cheap school and the local hospital put forth tuition if you went to work for them) and no debt grad school (cheap school and nurse traineeship).

happymomma
09-20-2011, 04:36 PM