PDA

View Full Version : Birth plan: What am I leaving out?

longtallsally05
10-18-2011, 04:23 PM
I'm posting this in the lounge b/c I need input ASAP (my appointment is tomorrow morning).

I'm seeing my OB again Wednesday morning and I need to hand in a written birth plan so everyone in the practice is aware of my wishes during labor & delivery. I just want a basic natural childbirth experience; I've never written a "birth plan" before and there is no form to fill out nor template to follow. Based on childbirth experiences #s 1 & 2 I have thought of the following things that I want for childbirth #3. What, if anything, do you think I've left out that I should consider including in the written birth plan?

Natural childbirth: no pain meds except local anesthetic for stitching up perineal tears after delivery.

DH present as my birth partner.

Saline lock (not continuous IV fluids).

Diflucan with my IV antibiotics (per my OB's standard of practice, I have to have antibiotics b/c DS was born GBS positive. I'm very prone to persistent thrush in my milk ducts and I'd like to skip the thrush/plugged ducts/mastitis cycle this time around).

Intermittent external fetal monitoring.

Freedom to move around/assume positions comfortable during labor and delivery, including walking, kneeling, squatting etc with the use of a squat bar, birth ball, birth stool etc. Hospital policy will not allow for water births or use of a tub during labor (showers only).

No amniotomy, episiotomy, vacum, or forceps without my consent.

Freedom to drink liquids during labor.

No bright lights or loud noises.

No eye ointment for the baby until after opportunity for breastfeeding at least 1 hour. Bedside assessments are okay.

Breastfeeding only: no pacifiers, no bottles, no glucose/water/formula.