PDA

View Full Version : What is the definition of "unemployed"?

ha98ed14
10-19-2011, 07:58 PM
If you are not currently a W-2 employee, but are seeking that type of employment, does that make you unemployed? What if you have picked up contract work, but it is regular or full time. If someone gives you a 1099 at the end of the year, does that mean you were employed?

jenfromnj
10-19-2011, 08:13 PM
I'm not a tax expert (so anyone who is, please feel free to correct me!), but I believe getting a 1099 at year-end technically makes you self-employed. We are actually meeting with our accountant soon to go over withholding and tax implications of my being a 1099 this year, so I can let you know what he says.

mommylamb
10-19-2011, 08:16 PM
Unemployed according to the government is someone who is collecting unemployment insurance compensation. If you are not working, but no longer qualify for UI, you do not count in the unemployment rolls. If you are working PT you do not count either. You might be considered under employed in that context. If you file a 1099 or a W-2 you don't count as unemployed.

wellyes
10-19-2011, 08:58 PM
Unemployed according to the government is someone who is collecting unemployment insurance compensation.

Exactly. You have to have worked for a company who paid into unemployment insurance, be no longer working, be actively seeking a new job, and qualify for unemployment benefits. So if the paper says that there is a 7% unemployment rate, that does not include independent contractors, SAHM trying to get back into the work force, or people who collected unemployment until the benefit ran out and now have no income but are still looking for a job.

dcmom2b3
10-19-2011, 09:03 PM