PDA

View Full Version : NYC Mamas, help : ) - Maclaren Volo? WWYD

berlinsoul
11-11-2011, 06:19 AM
A friend of mine, living in NYC, is getting her first child.
As her main stroller she got the B-Agile as a gift and seems pretty happy with this choice.

As a lightweight stroller she was about to register for a Mac Volo and I said that I don't think this might be a good idea (no recline, smallish wheels, not usable after birth, less comfortable for the baby and the parents then a stroller with slightly bigger wheels and recline). Of course it's one of the lightest strollers on the market and it is perfect for NY public transport.
She said, everybody in NYC does use a Volo.
What would you recommend? I told her to look at the Cybex Ruby or Onyx or Uppa Baby G-Luxe, but I have no experience with both of them.

(I told her to wait after the baby is born and she knows better what is important to her, but she really wants to put it on her registry list.)

Thanks for your advise!! :loveeyes:

mmommy
11-11-2011, 08:31 AM
In NYC and love the Volo. Great for when your kid is too big to wear and too small to walk and you need to run about town and use the subway.

swissair81
11-11-2011, 09:14 AM
She could always get a Triumph or a Quest. Just tell her she can't use them for the first few months. I have no experience with either Cybex or G-Luxe. I also don't own an umbrella stroller (on purpose), so what do I know?

crl
11-11-2011, 09:16 AM
Well the Ruby doesn't have full recline and is heavier than the volo so I wouldn't suggest it and the Onyx seems awfully heavy to me for the NYC subway where you have to carry the stroller up and down stairs. (Loved my Onyx though.)

Since she is getting the B-Agile, she might be fine baby wearing until the baby is able to sit in the volo. I'm not are what the B-Agile weighs, but I would guess based on my memory of the BJCM that anything with a cushy seat and full recline will not be all that much lighter.