PDA

View Full Version : If you use the Alton Brown turkey recipe...

fedoragirl
11-12-2011, 10:18 AM
...do you follow it to a tee? I've read a lot of reviews on that web site but no one mentions any changes to the recipe. I was wondering about allspice berries (substitute it with cloves, cinnamon, and nutmeg?) and vegetable stock. Both these items are not readily available here and I don't want to go through the trouble of looking up specialty stores that may or may not carry them.
I thought of making my veggie stock from scratch but can't I just buy powder/granules etc. and just do that? Will it significantly affect the recipe?
This is my first time ever making turkey so I'd like to follow the Alton Brown recipe so recommended here.

Jrwusch
11-12-2011, 10:24 AM
We did it for the first time last year and I'm pretty sure we didn't make any changes...it was the most amazing turkey ever! I don't know enough to know whether those changes you mentioned would make a big difference. Sorry!

SnuggleBuggles
11-12-2011, 10:38 AM
Brining is pretty darned flexible. The salt and the water s what you really are using, the rest is at your discretion. If you think different flavors would be yummy, go for it. We have always followed it to a t. :) But, I admit that I am now hooked on Fire and Flavor Herb Brining Kit. I think the gravy that comes out as a result is delicious and plentiful. I thought the Alton Brown was good but that is even better!
http://www.amazon.com/Fire-Flavor-Perfect-Brining-20-8-Ounce/dp/B001GP0J0E/ref=sr_1_28?ie=UTF8&qid=1321108601&sr=1-28

As for cooking instructions- follow the Alton Brown.

Beth

Penny's Pappa
11-12-2011, 10:55 AM
You know, I could swear that that recipe has changed at least once.

We don't use the allspice or the veggie stock, but we do add one tube of OJ concentrate and I think a cup of dark brown sugar. Again, I could swear that's what his recipe used to call for but maybe I'm going crazy!