PDA

View Full Version : have you heard the term "planned obsolescence"?

mezzona
11-21-2011, 03:46 PM
just finished watching a documentary on youtube called the lightbulb conspiracy (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2NqhD5fqbwM). it is about planned obsolescence. has anyone seen this? i know that there are objects that are created cheaply, thus with a shortened lifespan, but that things are specifically timed to shut down so that we have to buy again? new to me. care to discuss?

rlu
11-21-2011, 03:58 PM
I work in the tech industry and for us it isn't so much of planned obsolescence as just knowing the technology will get better and cheaper as time goes by. When I first started working at a disk drive manufacturer they were making 8.5" and 4.25" drives but within two years the standards were 4.25" and 3.5" and then again 3.5" and 1.8". Why spend the money and drive up costs to make something that will last forever when it will be surpassed by its competitors in a year? That said, in my personal life I have clung to old technology often long pass a reasonable time simply because they did keep working. I was still using a walkman long after cds came out and our main tv is now 15 years old, a huge monster of a thing but it works well enough.

But planned obsolescence is different, you are expected to buy the same thing again, items that break just after the warranty expires.

brittone2
11-21-2011, 04:07 PM
Yep.