PDA

View Full Version : Can you read upside-down?

Twoboos
11-22-2011, 09:34 PM
DD1 brought home the book, "Who's Afraid of the Big Bad Book?" from the library the other day.

There are a few pages where the writing is upside-down. I just read the pages. DD was surprised I could do it. I never really thought about it but I guess it's weird.

DH mentioned I could read upside down to DD2's teacher and she asked if I was a teacher. LOL!

GvilleGirl
11-22-2011, 09:39 PM
I felt like I spent most of my day reading upside down when I was teaching.

lisa928
11-22-2011, 09:51 PM
Another amazing ability we have....

I cdnuolt blveiee taht I cluod aulaclty uesdnatnrd waht I was rdanieg. The phaonmneal pweor of the hmuan mnid, aoccdrnig to a rscheearch at Cmabrigde Uinervtisy, it dseno't mtaetr in waht oerdr the ltteres in a wrod are, the olny iproamtnt tihng is taht the frsit and lsat ltteer be in the rghit pclae. The rset can be a taotl mses and you can sitll raed it whotuit a pboerlm. Tihs is bcuseae the huamn mnid deos not raed ervey lteter by istlef, but the wrod as a wlohe.

Green_Tea
11-22-2011, 09:52 PM

I cdnuolt blveiee taht I cluod aulaclty uesdnatnrd waht I was rdanieg. The phaonmneal pweor of the hmuan mnid, aoccdrnig to a rscheearch at Cmabrigde Uinervtisy, it dseno't mtaetr in waht oerdr the ltteres in a wrod are, the olny iproamtnt tihng is taht the frsit and lsat ltteer be in the rghit pclae. The rset can be a taotl mses and you can sitll raed it whotuit a pboerlm. Tihs is bcuseae the huamn mnid deos not raed ervey lteter by istlef, but the wrod as a wlohe.

OK, that's really cool!

KrisM
11-22-2011, 10:02 PM

Very cool! And amazingly easy to read!

Twoboos
11-22-2011, 10:03 PM

This explains why I can always read DDs phonetic spellings!! :rotflmao:

hellokitty
11-22-2011, 10:12 PM