PDA

View Full Version : Did you circumcise your DS?

mjs64
11-28-2011, 04:31 AM
Wondering because of my son's recent infection in his intact penis (see my other thread (http://windsorpeak.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=417796)). Elaborate your reasoning if you feel like it. We did not because DH is not circumcised, because we aren't religious, because I've read that circumcision can detract from sexual pleasure, because, I don't know, we wanted him to be "whole." I am no expert though. Worrying now I made the wrong choice.

niccig
11-28-2011, 04:56 AM
Worrying now I made the wrong choice.

I think you'll find this is just one incident and DS will probably be fine, though I understand second guessing yourself.

We did not circumcise DS. We didn't see it as necessary. I let DH do a lot of the research and he said he didn't want it to be done. DH is circumcised, so we ask here for any advice.

This topic can get pretty heated on the boards. I hope this thread stays civil so you can see that there's a whole range of reasons for our decisions, and neither are right or wrong. I also think the pendulum on this swings back and forth. Circumcision was more common in our DH's childhood. It's less common now in parts of the country. I think it's 50-50 in some areas.

ETA. I should also add that I've found the rate of circumcision to vary in different social groups. We were in a playgroup and DS was the only boy not circumcised. We would swap babysitting and some of the other mothers commented that DS was first intact penis they had seen. DS goes to a school that is non-traditional, and from conversations with other mothers, most boys are intact. We all live in same location, abotu 20 mins apart, but different social groups and different attitudes to circumcision.

roseyloxs
11-28-2011, 04:58 AM