PDA

View Full Version : Penzey's spices

jgenie
12-05-2011, 05:35 AM
I just found a local Penzey's and would like to pick up some stocking stuffers but was overwhelmed with the choices. What do you recommend? I'm a new cook but would like to get a few things for myself and my mom. TIA

GvilleGirl
12-05-2011, 05:49 AM
We love Penzeys! Do you want it more for baking or cooking? The one we use the most is probably Herbes de Provence. Fox Point is amazing on potatoes. I have been meaning to order both Chili 3000 and their Taco seasoning are both really good. We also use a lot of southwest and pork chop seasoning. I love their vanilla sugar on fruit. My girlfriend loves the apple pie spice if you are into baking.

lkarp
12-05-2011, 06:51 AM
I mostly use the single spices and herbs. I love their blend of cinnamon for baking and the greek seasoning for cooking. My FiL really likes Mural of Flavor. You can do a combined gift of holiday baking spices: whole nutmeg, whole cinnamon sticks, cloves, star anise and a microplane zester for grating the nutmeg. Nothing beats fresh grated nutmeg on top of eggnog!

macassi
12-05-2011, 08:22 AM
We adore the fajita seasoning.

I really like Sandwich sprinkle -- it's especially good with mozzarella and tomato.

Their 4/S seasoned salt is great too. I usually use it whenever I cook plain veggies -- especially good on green beans.

zoestargrove
12-05-2011, 09:34 AM
I mostly buy single herbs, but I love their chili powder blends. Their cinnamon is amazing too.

Corie
12-05-2011, 09:40 AM
We only order from Penzey's spices!! LOVE their stuff!!

Love their Cinnamon!

*Pork Chop Seasoning
*Chicago Steak Seasoning
*Sandwich Sprinkle
*Buttermilk Ranch Dressing Base
*Taco Seasoning
*Cinnamon/Sugar Mix
*Beef Roast Seasoning
*Northwood Seasoning

You can't go wrong with any of their products!!!

gibas23
12-05-2011, 09:48 AM
i just stocked up on our local penzeys, these are our must haves: