PDA

View Full Version : Make ahead cinnamon rolls-help needed please!

erv917
12-13-2011, 01:53 PM
Inspired in part by recent threads on giving homemade cinnamon rolls as gifts, I am thinking of making cinnamon rolls for my family Christmas morning (not to be delivered, for the people who'll be at my house that morning, total of 8 people). I would like to make them ahead of time and freeze, and I know many people have done that with cinnamon rolls. For background, I am a moderately experienced baker, bake bread pretty often, etc, but have never attempted cinnamon rolls. I'm not too clear if they need a second rise before freezing? After freezing? I am assuming frosting should be made that a.m. and put on immediately before baking? Kinda clueless here!

Not sure I'll have a chance to do a dry run before Christmas (nor do I really need the temptation of having an extra batch around!!), so if someone could talk me through this in detail that would be a huge help!

TIA!!

trentsmom
12-13-2011, 02:21 PM
I've made the Cinnabon clone a few times before, but I don't have any experience with freezing it. I would do the second rise before freezing strictly based on the fact that one year I tried to do the second rise in the fridge overnight, and it barely rose at all. As far as the icing, someone here talked about freezing it successfully, but I don't think it's any big deal to whip it up while the rolls are baking. I just leave all of the ingredients on the counter overnight (I put them out right before bed) so that they are soft enough to use in the morning.

MommytoEliana
12-13-2011, 02:58 PM
These aren't exactly what you were asking for (to have in the freezer), but if you have a bread machine, they are nice and easy. All the work for them is done the night before (and it isn't much work). Christmas morning you just stick them in the oven. Oh, and they're yummy! :-)

Make-ahead Caramel Rolls

Dough

1 1/4 c water (room temperature or lukewarm, not hot)
1/3 c sugar