PDA

View Full Version : Do you have to put your address on your resume?

ha98ed14
12-29-2011, 02:40 PM
If you're job hunting and sending out resumes, do you put your address on them? It seems creepy to me that I am telling who knows how many strangers where I live. I would never post my address here, so why would I send it to strangers? But on the other hand, maybe I need to put it on there to show I am local? I am not homeless? WDYT?

vludmilla
12-29-2011, 02:45 PM
I was a program director for years and responsible for hiring. I don't believe I ever received a resume without an address on it. I think I would have noticed it if there wasn't an address on a resume. I think as long as you're sending it to established, reputable organizations there is very little chance that your information would be misused.

AngB
12-29-2011, 02:46 PM
I voted yes but I'm a traditional/former English teacher type.

Are you listed in the phonebook? Then any of them could find your address anyway so you aren't really giving them info that they (or any other random person) couldn't find.

klwa
12-29-2011, 02:54 PM
I voted Yes. I work for state government & when applying with us, you are required to fill out an application rather than send in a resume. And the first thing on there after your name is your address. They need it for background check, etc.

amldaley
12-29-2011, 02:59 PM
If you are posting a resume to a jobs search site, you can leave it off. But sending a resume in to a company or to a recruiter for a specific job? Yes. It needs to be on there, for MANY reasons.