PDA

View Full Version : is your Montessori school AMI or AMS certified?

AnnieW625
01-10-2012, 04:43 PM
I am just beginning to think about preschool for DD2 and both DH and I think she'd benefit greatly from a Montessori preschool education. My problem is there is only one AMS certified school in our area, and it is about 10 miles from our house, but at least can be on my way to and from work. We are in SE LA County that borders the middle west to SW Orange County. I used to work at a AMS school in college (now it is AMI certified) and it was very by the book and that is what I want. I do not want a school that claims to be Montessori that really isn't. So if your kids go to a Montessori school is it certified, or was that not a factor for you?

If you are local to my area please send me a PM if you have any input on Montessori schools in my area.

Kindra178
01-10-2012, 04:46 PM
My twins' school is AMS, but they will most likely be AMI in a few years. AMS is still an excellent certification. From what I understand, AMI has some annoying rules like if you have a toddler program, it has to be 5 days a week. That doesn't affect the primary program at all, but AMI won't certify a school unless it meets all the criteria.

essnce629
01-10-2012, 06:48 PM
The Montessori school that DS2 and I attend for our weekly parent & me class (and that he'll hopefully be attending for preschool) is not certified by either, but is very traditional and by the book, which is also what I wanted.