PDA

View Full Version : Air duct cleaning

DrSally
01-12-2012, 01:11 AM
Has anyone had this done? Is it worth it? We have a new construction home. For some reason, turing on the forced air makes me more sleepy than usual. I know that sounds strange, but i'm wondering iif cleaning the air ducts would help. Also, the dryer vent seems like it needs to be cleaned out. The dryer isn'r working as efficiently as it used to. Or is the whole thing just a scam?

Tinochka
01-12-2012, 01:47 AM
We bought a home last year (1986), it was looking clean, but I wash shocked to see thick layer of dust in the vent, once I started painting. The guy told us that by some sign, he guess that it was never done. Oh, my how much dust he cleaned. It took him some time...
I think that you need to do it, if you had some major work in a house or once in a while. I would suggest to look for a good company, because some of them advertise sale price, once they get into house, there are going to be lots of things additional. At least it is good to know, what are they using, what are the rec and prices. So, you can choose ahead of the game, what are you going to do, what you are going to skip (like cleaning the dryer vent).
I had stuffed nose in our old house, we cleaned the vents last year and I felt relieved. Our dryer vent was clogged with socks;). No, wonder why I was loosing my socks:)
Short version, I will highly recommend it.

DrSally
01-12-2012, 01:54 AM
Thanks! Our house is new construction, we finished the basement, and btwn all that, there prob is a lot of dust/debris. I'm scared of the add ons. There's a groupon for $49, but that seems too good to be true

Tinochka
01-12-2012, 02:08 AM