PDA

View Full Version : Kicking the pacifier habit

BeccaB.
01-12-2012, 04:16 PM
Help! When, how? How do I get rid of my babies pacifier? More importantly when do I do it? What age is the best age to get rid of it? My little guy is 15 months. My husband wants to get rid of the pacifier because the baby keeps waking up in the middle of the night. BTW DH doesn't get up to take care of it I do.

I personally think it's too soon. The poor little dude is teething and it seems to be the only thing helping. I don't really want to give him Tylenol all the time which is what I have to do if I try to take the soothie away.

I could really use some advice as my older kiddo never used a pacifier so I'm new to this. Thanks in advance for your help!

jellibeans
01-12-2012, 04:27 PM
At that age, we gave my ds1 about 6 pacifiers. That way if he woke up, he would just reach his arm out and most likely find one!

lhafer
01-12-2012, 04:27 PM
no advice here. I tried to break mine (who was a pacifier FIEND) at 2, then 2.5, and finally we had success right around 3 years old. She would go to bed with one in her mouth, one in each hand, and couple in the crib for good measure! I have a picture of her where she has stuffed 3-4 pacifiers in her mouth at once! We finally started cutting holes in the ends of them one at a time, and when she put them in her mouth, she would bring it to me saying it was broken. We would then throw it away.

I am not who thinks keeping a pacifier too long is a bad thing, unless they NEVER take it of their mouth, or talk around it. Her speech was never affected, nor are her teeth.

BeccaB.
01-12-2012, 04:38 PM