PDA

View Full Version : Choosing the right school for your child..is there a critical age for paying $$$ ??

new_mom_mry
01-24-2012, 06:31 PM
So I want to preface this post by explaining that I am a complete novice at the whole "choosing the right school for your child" endeavor. Perhaps, many parents on these boards have had to confront similar choices and could share their words of wisdom with me.

The basic question is as follows: does it make the most sense to pay top dollar for a toddler program, preschool/pre-k program, kindergarten program/elementary school operating from an assumption that you can't afford to always pay top dollar for your child's education up until graduation from high school and need to make some choices. In other words, given a limited pool of financial resources, what is considered the critical age when you would want your child to have the best education possible, knowing that at other time points you will have to rely on school programs that are more mediocre??? Would it be the toddler age (1-3), preschool/pre-k age (3-5), kindergarten age (5-6), or perhaps elementary or middle school (all high schools are outstanding in our town, so not worried about those). Is it some combination of these age groups, e.g. pay for the best programs during the ages of 1-3 AND 3-5 and then send your child into a public kinder, elementary school, and so on....

When answering my question assume that the "non-top dollar" programs at each age level are ok, but the more expensive programs offer better facilities, stronger educational philosophy, lower teacher-student ratios, and better reputation among local parents.

edurnemk
01-24-2012, 06:36 PM
Definitely elementary or middle school. I wouldn't choose toddler program at all, preschool is not that important either, IMO, at those ages they learn through play and socialization.