PDA

View Full Version : Car Seat for Toyota Echo - Help!

JMGBK
01-30-2012, 05:57 PM
Hi Everyone,

I am expecting my first baby in May 2012 and am trying to figure out which car seat will fit in our 2001 four-door Toyota Echo. I have gotten the idea that many seats won't fit in the Echo, or not without pushing the passenger seat all the way forward.

I looked at old threads and saw people recommend the Britax Boulevard and the Chicco Keyfit (also RoundAbout, Regent and Frontier). I am pretty new to this though and am not even sure if these are infant seats or convertibles, or if current models really fit the Echo.

Does anyone out there have an Echo and some advice?

Thanks so much!

edurnemk
01-30-2012, 06:00 PM
Britax Blvd is a convertible, Chicco Keyfit is an infant seat.

I have the Blvd and love it, but I have a medium crossover, however I did fit it RF in our Sentra we had before (but had to push the passenger seat almost all the way forward).

Have you looked at the Cybex Aton? It's an infant seat supposed to be a few inches shorter without sacrificing actual room for the baby.

ETA: I think one of the smallest convertibles is the Combi Cocoro.

teo
01-30-2012, 06:13 PM
We have an '01 Prius, which is almost identical to the Echo---got the Cybex Aton because it allows us to move the front seats back. Very happy with it---pricey but worth it for the size. Haven't explored the convertible seats yet...hopefully there will be some good small car options when the time comes! Good luck---it's a tough car to fit, I found (even though we love the small size most of the time!)

JMGBK
01-31-2012, 10:30 AM
Thanks very much. I hadn't heard of the Cybex Aton so I'll put that on my list. I had searched the boards here and found people with Toyota Echos who were using the Britax Boulevard and the Chicco Keyfit... but then when I checked the reviews in my copy of Baby Bargains they said explicitly that the bases on those were large and might not fit small cars. So confusing!