PDA

View Full Version : Recommend your briefcase/business tote!

legaleagle
02-19-2012, 03:16 PM
As can probably be guessed by my SN, I'm a lawyer. However, I never go to court and only rarely to out of office meetings so I don't need a specific briefcase very often. I need it to be big enough for legal size file folders (14x9) so anything that's big enough for 15" macbook or widescreen laptop should work. I don't carry around a laptop or much of anything else, just the folders and a few pens/wallet etc. Anyone have any specific recommendations? Something classic/timeless would be good since lawyers are boring and I'll likely have this for years. I'd like to keep it under $150 if possible.

TIA!

nupe
02-20-2012, 10:42 AM
First of all, I don't recommend Tumi! The handle link to bag hardware looked sturdy on mine but it fell apart. Wasn't going to pay any more to see about mailing off for warranty etc. I had purchased a fabric (not leather) tumi becaue of weight, and I never had much in it beyond a laptop and a few journals/files, and within months the handle fell off.

I've had a Jack Georges 3 way zip from several years ago, but I think it is very tight to add anything to it if you are definitely carrying a laptop, and it doesn't stretch. I don't know about the dimensions nowadays as they could be different, this link says it holds a 15.4" screen. I like the sleek look of it. I like that it stands up almost on it's own. I usually lean it against a chair or the wall behind me if I'm in a meeting. I've seen it on sale before. THe only down side is that after a few years of use the handles are getting bendy where they fold over at the top of the bag, if that makes any sense.
http://www.jackgeorges.com/chelsea-5916-1201.html