PDA

View Full Version : How do you deal with stress?

niccig
02-24-2012, 03:16 AM
I just want to hide under my bed covers and never come out of my room, or eat every single piece of chocolate within a 5 mile radius.

elephantmeg
02-24-2012, 09:57 AM
hugs, that was me last week. I forced myself out, went to the gym and then planed some fun stuff for the weekend. This week has been a little better...

janeybwild
02-24-2012, 10:09 AM
Not well :(

sste
02-24-2012, 10:10 AM
Well, this is going to sound odd but I am a proud graduate of cognitive behavior therapy. I often write down the thought I am having and then figure out if I am predicting the future, catastrophizing, overgeneralizing (e.g., my career will be over). Then I try to come up with a more reasonable thought. THEN I eat chocolate. :)

I also find it helpful to think through a little how I would handle x or y worst case scenario - - if I am truly distraught I have to ask myself how I would advise a friend to handle the same X or Y if it happened to her. I usually am much better at advising others than myself so this can work well!

Giantbear
02-24-2012, 10:52 AM
i break down what is stressing me to actionable items, i address what i can and then dismiss what i can't. No use being stressed over that which i can't control and if i am doing all i can to help something, then no use stressing over that either.

and then i eat ice cream

BabyBearsMom
02-24-2012, 10:57 AM