PDA

View Full Version : Do you like Parenting Early Years?

Mopey
03-02-2012, 11:56 AM
I got an offer for this mag, and although I've looked in a few places to find an issue to check out first I've had no luck.

Do any of you read this mag? Would you recommend it for a FTM like me? I've only seen a couple of copies of Pregnancy & Newborn so my knowledge of baby/parenting mags is pretty much nil.

Would love to hear opinions. TIA :)

lizzywednesday
03-02-2012, 12:27 PM
It's kind of "meh" in my opinion ... I wouldn't pay for it.

I think I got a mini-subscription as part of baby gear because I remember getting issues for DD's first year, but I really didn't get a lot out of it.

I rely on my pediatrician's office's well-visit PDF sheets for basic development information and ask the BBB mamas & dads for parenting advice when I don't feel like I can go to my parents (we don't see eye-to-eye on a lot of things) so it was kind of useless to me.

Trigglet
03-02-2012, 12:37 PM
Yeah, don't bother. It's just a glorified advertising pamphlet - very occasional, predictable articles on areas of interest, but rarely covering topics of interest to the attachment-parenting crowd (which is me!). I would high recommend Brain, Child magazine - much more thoughtful, intelligent actual discussion rather than articles like 'How to dress your child like a famous person's child but for less money', or whatever :ROTFLMAO:

There's nothing quite like Mothering magazine at the moment - so sad that it stopped being published.

lizzywednesday
03-02-2012, 01:14 PM
Yeah, don't bother. It's just a glorified advertising pamphlet - very occasional, predictable articles on areas of interest, but rarely covering topics of interest to the attachment-parenting crowd (which is me!). I would high recommend Brain, Child magazine - much more thoughtful, intelligent actual discussion rather than articles like 'How to dress your child like a famous person's child but for less money', or whatever :ROTFLMAO: