PDA

View Full Version : Thinking about offering private sewing lessons

kaitlyns.mom
03-05-2012, 08:25 PM
I'm thinking about offering private sewing lessons evenings/weekends and possibly some weekdays to bring in some extra money.

I have been sewing for three years, have an Etsy shop and would mainly focus on getting the person familiar with their machine, providing them with a supplies list for the future and showing them how to do a basic project like a tote bag, skirt, etc.

I was thinking somewhere between $40-$50 an hour.

Thoughts? Advice? Is going to their home better, or bringing them to mine? (I am leaning toward theirs.)

I have a few friends who have new machines that are still in the box. I already taught one of them how to use it... I figure there might be a lot of moms out there wanting to learn who don't want to take a class at Jo-Ann.

anonomom
03-05-2012, 09:00 PM
I think it's a very cool idea, and I am sure that you would be well worth the $40-50 an hour. But to be frank, I would have a hard time spending that much money for any kind of hobby-type lesson. I know that I tend to be cheap, but I'd have a hard time justifying more than $20 or so.

That said, I have never looked into sewing lessons, so I don't know the going rate or what the market will bear. Feel free to take my opinion with a grain of salt.

knaidel
03-05-2012, 09:06 PM
I have taken sewing lessons before. I have used 3 different teachers in different geographic locales. I always went to the teachers house and learned on her machine. Usually, the teacher herself had a high end machine (husqvarna, Pfaff, Bernina, etc) and had a Janome or something for the students.

I think that $40-$50 is very high per hour. I wouldn't pay that, especially for someone who herself didn't years and years of experience either as a seamstress or as a sewing teacher.

good luck! sounds like fun for you and your students.

KrisM
03-05-2012, 09:15 PM
I think it sounds like a great idea.