PDA

View Full Version : Design help! What goes together better?

dukie41181
04-21-2012, 10:36 PM
I have a chair that will be going in my office and I'm trying to match a desk Which desk matches better?

Desk #1 (Liatrop at Ikea): http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/30103676/

Desk #2 (Bedford at Pottery Barn): http://lansing.craigslist.org/fuo/2952717439.html

ourbabygirl
04-21-2012, 10:38 PM
I like the simple, clean lines of the desk at Ikea (and the knobs, in particular). The PB one seems a little more modern.
If you could find an Ikea-style one in brown, that would go really well, IMO. :)

trcy
04-21-2012, 11:47 PM
I am no expert, but I prefer desk 2 with that chair.

eno0609
04-22-2012, 12:58 AM
Desk #2

dukie41181
04-22-2012, 07:51 AM
Thanks for the opinions! Please keep them coming!

WatchingThemGrow
04-22-2012, 08:11 AM
I keep looking at the 2 choices, and neither is what I'd expect to see with that chair, but it could be fun!

Since it is an actual working desk, I would choose based on the functionality. Which kind of storage do you need? Will it bother you to need to move it and vacuum under the IKEA desk? Are the dimensions of both right for you? Is one easier to get than the other?

dukie41181
04-22-2012, 08:18 AM
I keep looking at the 2 choices, and neither is what I'd expect to see with that chair, but it could be fun!

Since it is an actual working desk, I would choose based on the functionality. Which kind of storage do you need? Will it bother you to need to move it and vacuum under the IKEA desk? Are the dimensions of both right for you? Is one easier to get than the other?

Are you expecting something more ornate?

lhafer
04-22-2012, 08:22 AM
I was expecting a slightly more ornate desk for that chair, and I don't really think either desk goes with that particular chair. #2 is a little more ornate than the Ikea one, so of the choices, I would go with #2.

Are you going to keep the fabric of the chair, or recover it?

dukie41181